Buckwheat & Almond Savoury Scones

I still have buckwheat flour to use up after Nigella’s triple chocolate buckwheat cookies and a couple of muffin-y creations. Sweetness just wasn’t appealing to me after devouring a packet of Oreos, but I still had the urge to bake.

Cue a variation on a recipe from River Cottage Light and Easy. Varied, of course, because of what I had available and on hand. I never let being short of an ingredient or two put me off trying a recipe and nor should you, either. Sometimes, it creates something beautiful.

This recipe is naturally gluten free, so perfect to make if you have an intolerance.

RECIPE

Makes 4 large scones

100g ground almonds

200g buckwheat flour, plus extra for shaping and dusting

2 heaped tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

100ml skimmed milk (almond or oat milk can be substituted to make this dairy free)

100ml water

1 large egg

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

Mix the dry ingredients into one bowl and stir the wet ingredients into a jug, mixing the egg in thoroughly.

Mix the wet ingredients into the dry. I like to use a silicone spatula to really scrape down the sides of the bowl, to make sure you have no floury pockets. It will come together to form a sticky dough. It should look like this:

Now flour your work surface and hands and take the dough out of the bowl. Pat it into a round circle around 3cm thick, and cut into quarters.

Transfer to a lined baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes. Your kitchen will smell intensely savoury, it’s actually delightful, but also slightly upsetting as you need to wait for these to cook and cool before tucking in.

My dough scraper was a present off my friend Kathryn, & I love it.

After the 30 minutes is up, remove from the oven and allow to cool completely. Enjoy with olive oil or butter and as an accompaniment to soup, or just on its own. Mine are ready to be enjoyed with some carrot and coriander soup tomorrow lunchtime.


Leave a comment